Saturday Spotlight- Sarah D’Amore

Name: Sarah D’Amore
Age: 45
Hometown: Oklahoma City
Current Town: Seaford
Husband: Husband, Michael (married 20 years in Oct.)
Daughter, Maria: 17
Pets: Cookie, 15 (Jack Russell), Teddy, 1 (Border Terrier mix rescue), Ellie, 8 (Cavalier King Charles Spaniel that belonged to my mom)
Occupation: P/T Accountant

I was born & raised as an only child in Oklahoma City. My mom was a stay-at-home mom & my dad was an electrical engineer & graduate of the University of Oklahoma (Go Sooners!). I was lucky to grow up with a close relationship with both of my parents. My dad passed away in 2007 from complications from bladder cancer. My mom moved to New York to be closer to me about 3 years ago. After a short hospital stay this summer, she passed away on July 17. I’m still in shock.

I was a quiet child who grew up playing the violin and taking ballet classes. On weekends we would go to our lake house & I would run through the woods & down the dirt roads. We would also go hiking at the National Park in my dad’s hometown, play tennis (although not well) and go horseback riding when we had the opportunity. Our summer vacations were often to Colorado, Texas, Yellowstone National Park, Glacier National Park or the Oregon Coast where I had family.

After I graduated from college in December 1995, I went on a vacation with a friend from school. We planned a trip to New York City so she could visit her long distance boyfriend (& NYC). Her boyfriend decided to set me up with one of his friends. Now 23 years later we are still together & about to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary.

My husband & I have been described as a combination of My Big Fat Greek Wedding & Fools Rush In. We come from different type of families & cultures. My family is quiet (Southern-style proper) and my in-laws are – well, New York Italians. My mother-in-law and brother-in-law are my family now & I love them as they are my own mom & brother. My father-in-law, who was a Vietnam Vet, passes away in 2004 from leukemia. He was only 56. He had previously owned a gym. I think of him often when I’m exercising or running. He would be very proud that at least one of his “kids” was following in his footsteps (neither one of his sons continued the tradition – lol).

When my daughter started Middle School, our routine changed from previous years. Less sleep, more homework, more activities. And my husband worked nights. I got in a bad habit of eating on the go. I put some weight on & kept it on for a couple of years. One day I decided I’d had enough. My daughter is a dancer & the owner of her dance studio was a personal trainer. I started working out with her – which helped motivate me to eat better. Although I’m always trying improve. Two years ago, she challenged me to train for the Diva 5K. (More on that later.)
Thank you Lou for the opportunity to share my story.